Chronology and Typology

of

MISTRAL regulators

MISTRAL regulator

marketed from 1955 to 1976

Commander COUSTEAU will show off his CG45 autonomous diving unit in the late 1940s and early 1950s intensively (Grand Congloué campaign and in the Red Sea to name a few). He will quickly realize that he needs a more robust and easier to maintain regulator for his future expeditions around the world.

He then asked his LA SPIROTECHNIQUE engineers to redesign the design of the CG45. It was in this spirit that the idea of abandoning double-stage extansion was born for that of a single-stage…

Typology and chronology of manufacturer label for Mistral regulators.

There are 3 different "La Spirotechnique" addresses on the Mistral label, plus a variant for the address 27 rue Trébois Levallois ( Photo 1 ). It took me 2 good years to make the most precise chronology possible, here is the work of my research below.

IMG_6370.jpg
IMG_6362.jpg
IMG_6366.jpg
IMG_6365.jpeg

Photo 1

The MISTRAL with the address 6 Rue COGNACQ JAY PARIS VII

 

In 1955 the MISTRAL regulator leaves the workshops located "Cours la Reine, in BOULOGNE-BILLANCOURT" to replace the CG-45 regulator in yoke version.

It is the same address as that of the CG45 label, it is relatively rare which makes this version of MISTRAL relatively sought after by collectors. This regulator was produced around 2,500 copies (certainty up to N ° 2526 , see photo 2 ).

Originally, the housing of this regulator closes with staples, because the rod (or collar) did not come out until 1957. We nowadays encounter “COGNACQ JAY” with rod because later the staples have been abandoned, less practical for the maintenance of the regulator, without forgetting the fact that they often break on disassembly.

Note two other more technical points on this first generation of MISTRAL: the HP seat which is machined in the HP body and the hole in the lug in the rear bowl that prevents the HP body from pivoting on its axis is absent on the first models then positioned at the top relative to the inspiration nozzle ( Photo 3) , unlike future versions oriented downwards.

There is a small series published with a letter A at the end of the serial number, probably military, see professional ( Photo 4 ).

 

Between 1955 and 1960 the MISTRAL regulator will be marketed in 2 different models:

-A standard version with a fixed tip, called D 10 tip ( Photo 5 )

-A Pro version with removable mouthpiece, called tip D 10 P, to adapt the constant volume "PHOQUE" ( Photo 6 )

MISTRAL-2526.jpg

Photo 2

gamelle-cognacq.jpg

Photo 3

MISTRAL-1394A-1.jpg

Photo 5

MISTRAL-1394A.jpg

Photo 4

mistral-pro.jpg

Photo 6

The Mistrals bearing the address 27 Rue Trébois Levallois (Seine) will be marketed from 1956 to 1967 and range from serial number 2779 ( Photo 7 ) to 26439 ( Photo 15 ) with certainty. This address is available in 4 variants of Mistral regulator of which you will find the details below, the variant of 1956, that of 1957, that of 1961 and that of 1962. The latter marks the end of the evolution of the regulator and led to the advent of the Royal Mistral in 1963.

MISTRAL 56

 

In 1956 SPIROTECHNIQUE moved into large premises in LEVALLOIS.
On the manufacturer's label a new address is born:

"27 RUE TRÉBOIS LEVALLOIS (Seine)" . This is the "MISTRAL 56". This MISTRAL is identical at the "COGNACQ JAY", only the address of the label is different. The characters on the label are in thin letters of the same thickness, the case closes with staples and the HP seat is machined in the body. The lowest serial number I know to date from MISTRAL 56 is N ° 2757 ( Photo 7 ) and larger number N ° 3789 ( Photo 8 ). Which means that this variant is probably the rarest ... but not necessarily the most sought after, at least for now.

 

In 1957 the MISTRAL evolved as mentioned above, with the release of the rod in replacement of the clips, which allows easier handling of the regulator. But also, and more discreetly, a new HP body with removable HP seat and the hole in the lug pointing down on the rear bowl. We also differentiate this new series of MISTRAL by their label: the "LA SPIROTECHNIQUE" now appears in thick letters compared to the commercial address ( Photo 9 ). The smallest serial number I know to date is N ° 4408 ( Photo 10 ) ... probably a MISTRAL produced at the very beginning of 1957.

MISTRAL-2757.jpg

Photo 7

MISTRAL-3789.jpg

Photo 8

IMG_6364.jpg

Photo 9

MISTRAL-4408.jpg

Photo 10

The MISTRAL 61 or Super Mistral.

 

In 1961, the version with hoses with adjoining turns and AQUA-STOP mouthpiece first generation appeared ( Photo 11 and 12 ): it is the famous MISTRAL 61, also called Super Mistral and bearing the reference to the Spirotechnical catalog model with tip D10E . This new tip is a failure, it is uncomfortable and equipped with a sound membrane ... which does not work!

It will evolve the following year in its second final version ( Photo 13 ), with the tip offset from the axis to create a comfortable chin strap and the phonic membrane will be abandoned. This is called the MISTRAL 62 version.

 

Note that "La Spirotechnique "will change under warranty the replacement of the first generation mouthpiece  in 1962 ( Photo 14 ), making rare the MISTRAL 61 with its original mouthpiece... I found to date the number 10233 ( Photo 11 ) and 14430 with a first generation aquastop mouthpiece.

 

There will therefore be from 1961 in the catalog of the "La spirotechnique" 3 models of MISTRAL offered for sale:

-The model with a fixed mouthpiece (also called standard Mistral) or Mistral D10.

-The model with a removable mouthpiece (also called Mistral Pro), or Mistral D10P, to adapt to the constant volume "PHOQUE".

-The model with an Aqua-stop mouthpiece (also called Super Mistral) or Mistral D10E.

These 3 models with the plate 27 Rue Trébois Levallois (Seine) will be marketed until 1967 and the biggest serial number known to date is 26439 ( Photo 15 )

MISTRAL-61-1.jpg

Photo 11

embout61.jpg

Photo 12

aquastop2.jpg

Photo 13

tarifspiro62.jpg

Photo 14

MISTRAL-26439.jpg

Photo 15

MISTRAL 92

In 1964, on July 10 exactly, a law is promulgated for the reorganization of the Paris region is a modification of the territorial administration of the district of the Paris region.
This decree will come into force on January 1, 1968. The Seine department, so named since 1795, will be replaced by those of Paris, Hauts-de-Seine, Seine-Saint-Denis, and Val-de-Marne) and Seine-et-Oise (replaced by those of Essonne, Yvelines, and Val-d'Oise). Seine-et-Marne was not affected by this redistribution.
Thus the (Seine) is replaced by the number 92 from 1968 . It will now appear on the addresses "27 RUE TRÉBOIS LEVALLOIS 92" . The label of this MISTRAL ( Photo 16 ) is rare in good condition because its paint is of poor quality and the plate also tends to oxidize quickly in the marine environment. This regulator goes from serial number 26878 ( Photo 17 ) to 32876 ( Photo 18 ) with certainty. This address will only be marketed for 3 years from 1968 to 1970.

IMG_6366.jpg

Photo 16

MISTRAL-26878.jpg

Photo 17

MISTRAL-32876.jpg

Photo 18

MISTRAL MARIUS AUFAN

 

At the beginning of 1970, SPIROTECHNIQUE abandoned its oldest building on "rue TRÉBOIS in LEVALLOIS" to move to a new building in the same town, where all administrative services, as well as design offices and workshops will be grouped together. Officially, the abandonment of 27 RUE TRÉBOIS LEVALLOIS will do so on March 1, 1971 for resellers ( Photo 19 ).
A new address is therefore born, it is “114 RUE MARIUS AUFAN 92”

It will also be the last because in 1976, SPIROTECHNIQUE abandoned the manufacture of MISTRAL (as well as its professional branch) and moved to Nice in Carros, moving which will end in October 1977. This address goes from serial number 33342 to 39488 ( Photo 20 ) with certainty.

marius.jpg

Photo 19

IMG_8051.jpeg

Photo 20

Special cases of MISTRAL regulators

This version of MISTRAL regulator is very rare and we owe this photo to Philippe ROUSSEAU. This is a "limited edition" series made by Spiro following an order from the FFESSM which wanted to offer this regulator to its majors promoting national instructors. Even if I don't know over what period this gift was offered, we can assume that it must not have been very much ... and jealously kept by their owners ...

Military MISTRAL regulator

(French Navy)

MISTRAL-MILITAIRE.jpeg
M.MILITAIRE6.jpeg
M.MILITAIRE1.jpeg
M.MILITAIRE2.jpg
M.MILITAIRE3.jpeg
M.MILITAIRE5.jpeg
MISTRAL-MILITAIRE1.jpeg

According to the information I have found so far, the French army and navy have used several versions of MISTRAL regulators, including

 

- standard versions without any modification

- a "militarized" version with GODEL mouthpiece, painted black and whose identification plate was removed

- a "demining" version with exit above the diver via a snorkel maintained by a float whose bowl was soundproofed by caulking

Military MISTRAL regulator

(German Navy)

German Military version of the Mistral regulator.

This regulator was probably intended for training. It has a DIN connection with an HP output for connecting a pressure gauge. Thanks to Pascal Guyaux for these 2 photos.

IMG_6344
IMG_6319
IMG_6347
IMG_6346
IMG_6368
IMG_6342
IMG_6340
IMG_6343

COUSTEAU-GAGNAN scaphandre autonome in wooden boxe.

Description of the operation of the Mistral

This regulator allows, using an injector, to easily and regularly supply sufficient air, which is automatically relaxed in the lungs of the diver.

Its dorsal position ensures maximum respiratory comfort, the membrane being at the level of the bronchi.

It consists of a single expansion stage which transforms the high pressure. Slave flow control under very low pressure, supplied on demand, air at prevailing ambient pressure at any depth.

Its ease of use effectively eliminates the risk of shortness of breath.

Its design cannot cause a lack of air, its circuit open to expiration, leads bubbles out of the field of vision.

Capture d’écran 2019-08-19 à 18.44.06.pn

Schematic diagram of the Mistral

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now

Le commandant COUSTEAU va étrenner son scaphandre autonome CG45 à la fin des années 40 et début 50 de manière intensive (campagne du Grand Congloué et en Mer Rouge pour ne citer que celles-ci). Il va se rendre compte rapidement qu’il a besoin pour ses expéditions futures à travers le monde d’un détendeur plus robuste et plus simple d’entretien.

Il demande alors à ses ingénieurs de la SPIROTECHNIQUE de refonder la conception du CG45. C’est dans cet esprit que nait l’idée d’abandonner la détente à double étage pour celle d’un simple étage…

Typologie et chronologie des plaques constructeur des détendeurs Mistral.

Il existe 3 adresses différentes de la Spirotechnique sur les plaques de Mistral, plus une variante pour l'adresse 27 rue Trébois Levallois (Photo 1). Il m'a fallu 2 bonnes années pour réaliser une chronologie la plus précise possible, voici ci-dessous le travail de mes recherches.

IMG_6370.jpg
IMG_6362.jpg
IMG_6366.jpg
IMG_6365.jpeg

Photo 1

Le MISTRAL avec l'adresse 6 Rue COGNACQ JAY PARIS VII

En 1955 le détendeur MISTRAL sort des ateliers situés "Cours la Reine, à BOULOGNE-BILLANCOURT" en remplacement du détendeur CG-45 en version étrier.

C'est la même adresse que celle des plaques des CG45, elle est relativement rare ce qui rend cette version de MISTRAL relativement recherchée par les collectionneurs. Ce détendeur à été produit aux environs de 2500 exemplaires (certitude jusqu'au N° 2526, voir la photo 2).

D’origine, le boitier de ce détendeur se ferme avec des agrafes, car le jonc (ou collier) n’est sorti qu’en 1957. On rencontre de nos jours des « COGNACQ JAY » avec jonc car par la suite les agrafes ont été abandonnées, moins pratique pour l’entretien du détendeur, sans oublié le fait qu’elles se cassent souvent au démontage.

À noter deux autres points plus technique sur cette première génération de MISTRAL : le siège HP qui est usiné dans le corps HP et le trou de l'ergot dans la gamelle arrière qui empêche le corps HP de pivoter sur son axe est absent sur les premiers modèles puis positionné en haut par rapport à la tuyère d'inspiration (Photo 3), contrairement aux versions futures orientées vers le bas.

Il existe une petite série éditée avec une lettre A à la fin du numéro de série, probablement militaire, voir professionelle (Photo 4).

Entre 1955 et 1960 le détendeur MISTRAL sera commercialisé en 2 modèles différents: 

-Une version standard avec un embout fixe, dénommé embout D 10 (Photo 5)

-Une version Pro avec embout démontable, dénommé embout D 10 P, pour adapter le vêtement à volume constant "PHOQUE" (Photo 6)

MISTRAL-2526.jpg

Photo 2

gamelle-cognacq.jpg

Photo 3

MISTRAL-1394A.jpg

Photo 4

MISTRAL-1394A-1.jpg

Photo 5

mistral-pro.jpg

Photo 6

Les Mistral portant l'adresse 27 Rue Trébois Levallois (Seine) seront commercialisés de 1956 à 1967 et vont du numéro de série 2779 (Photo 7) à 26439 (Photo 15) avec certitude. Cette adresse se décline en 4 variantes de détendeur Mistral dont vous trouverez les détails ci-dessous, la variante de 1956, celle de 1957, celle de 1961et celle de 1962. Cette dernière marque la fin de l'évolution du détendeur et abouti à l'avènement du Royal Mistral en 1963.

​Le MISTRAL 56

En 1956 la SPIROTECHNIQUE emménage dans de vastes locaux à LEVALLOIS.
Sur la plaque constructeur une nouvelle adresse voit le jour :                    

 "27 RUE TRÉBOIS LEVALLOIS (seine) ». C’est le "MISTRAL 56". Ce MISTRAL est identique  au "COGNACQ JAY", seul l'adresse de la plaque est différente. Les caractères de la plaque sont en lettres fines de même épaisseur, le boitier se ferme avec des agrafes et le siège HP est usiné dans le corps.Le plus petit numéro de série que je connaisse à ce jour de MISTRAL 56 est le N°2757 (Photo 7) et plus gros numéro le N° 3789 (Photo 8). Ce qui signifie que cette variante est probablement la plus rare...mais pas forcément la plus recherchée, du moins pour l'instant.

 

En 1957 le MISTRAL évolue comme cité précédemment, avec la sorti du jonc en remplacement des agrafes, qui permet une manutention plus facile du détendeur. Mais aussi, et de manière plus discrète un nouveau corps HP avec siège HP amovible et le trou de l’ergot orienté vers le bas sur la gamelle arrière. On différencie aussi cette nouvelle série de MISTRAL par leur plaque : le "LA SPIROTECHNIQUE" apparait dorénavant en caractères épais par rapport à l'adresse commerciale (Photo 9). Le plus petit numéro de série que je connaisse à ce jour est le N°4623 (Photo 10)... probablement un MISTRAL produit au tout début de l'année 1957.

MISTRAL-2757.jpg

Photo 7

MISTRAL-3789.jpg

Photo 8

IMG_6364.jpg

Photo 9

MISTRAL-4623.jpg

Photo 10

Le MISTRAL 61 ou Super Mistral.

En 1961 apparait la version avec tuyaux à spires jointives et embout AQUA-STOP première génération (Photo 11 et 12) : c’est le fameux MISTRAL 61, appelé aussi Super Mistral et portant la référence au catalogue Spirotechnique modèle à embout D10E. Ce nouvel embout est un échec, il est inconfortable et équipé d'une membrane phonique...qui ne marche pas!

Il évoluera dès l'année suivante dans sa seconde version définitive (Photo 13), avec l’embout décalé de l’axe pour créer une mentonnière confortable et la membrane phonique sera abandonnée. C'est ce que l'on appelle la version MISTRAL 62.

À noter que la Spirotechnique changera sous garantie le remplacement de l'embout première génération en 1962 (Photo 14), rendant rare le MISTRAL 61 avec son embout original... J'ai retrouvé à ce jour le numéro 10233 (Photo 11) et 14430 avec un embout aqua stop première génération.

Il existera donc à partir de 1961 dans le catalogue de la spirotechnique 3 modèles de MISTRAL proposés à la vente:

-Le modèle avec un embout fixe (appelé aussi Mistral standard) ou Mistral D10.

-Le modèle avec un embout démontable (appelé aussi  Mistral Pro), ou Mistral D10P, pour adapter le vêtement à volume constant "PHOQUE".

-Le modèle avec un embout Aqua-stop (appelé aussi Super Mistral) ou Mistral D10E.

Ces 3 modèles avec la plaque 27 Rue Trébois Levallois (Seine) seront commercialisés jusqu'en 1967 et le plus gros numéro de série connu à ce jour est le 26439 (Photo 15)

MISTRAL-61-1.jpg

Photo 11

embout61.jpg

Photo 12

aquastop2.jpg

Photo 13

tarifspiro62.jpg

Photo 14

MISTRAL-26439.jpg

Photo 15

Le MISTRAL 92

En 1964, le 10 Juillet exactement, une loi est promulguée pour la réorganisation de la région parisienne est une modification de l'administration territoriale du district de la région parisienne.
Ce décret rentrera en vigueur le 1er janvier 1968. Le département Seine, nommé ainsi depuis 1795, sera remplacé par ceux de Paris, des Hauts-de-Seine, de la Seine-Saint-Denis, et du Val-de-Marne) et de Seine-et-Oise (remplacé par ceux de l'Essonne, des Yvelines, et du Val-d'Oise). La Seine-et-Marne ne fut pas concernée par ce redécoupage.
Ainsi le (seine) est remplacé par le nombre 92 à partir de 1968. Il apparaitra dorénavant sur les adresse "27 RUE TRÉBOIS LEVALLOIS 92". Le label de ce MISTRAL (Photo 16) est rare en bel état car sa peinture est de mauvaise qualité et la plaque a de plus tendance à s’oxyder rapidement en milieu marin. Ce détendeur va du numéro de série 26878 (Photo 17) au 32876 (Photo 18) avec certitude. Cette adresse ne sera commercialisée que 3 ans de 1968 à 1970.

IMG_6366.jpg

Photo 16

MISTRAL-26878.jpg

Photo 17

MISTRAL-32876.jpg

Photo 18

MISTRAL MARIUS AUFAN

Au début de l’année 1970 la SPIROTECHNIQUE abandonne ses locaux vétustes de la rue TRÉBOIS à LEVALLOIS pour déménager dans un immeuble neuf dans la même commune, où tous les services administratifs, ainsi que bureaux d'études et ateliers seront regroupés. Officiellement, l'abandon du 27 RUE TRÉBOIS LEVALLOIS ce fera au 1er Mars 1971 pour les revendeurs (Photo 19).
Une nouvelle adresse voit donc le jour, il s’agit du « 114 RUE MARIUS AUFAN 92 »

Elle sera aussi la dernière car en 1976, la SPIROTECHNIQUE abandonne la fabrication du MISTRAL (ainsi que sa branche professionnelle) et déménage sur Nice à Carros, déménagement qui se terminera en Octobre 1977. Cette adresse va du numéro de série 33342 à 39488 (Photo 20) avec certitude.

marius.jpg

Photo 19

IMG_8051.jpeg

Photo 20

Cette version de détendeur MISTRAL est très rare et nous devons cette photo à Philippe ROUSSEAU. Il s'agit d'une série à "édition limitée"  faite par la Spiro suite à une commande de la FFESSM qui souhaitait offrir ce détendeur à ses majors de promotion de moniteur nationaux. Même si j'ignore sur quelle période ce cadeau était offert on peut supposer qu'il doit en avoir pas beaucoup... et jalousement conservé par leurs propriétaires...

Détendeur MISTRAL Militaire

(Marine nationale Française)

D'après les informations que j'ai pu trouvé à ce jour l'armée et la marine Française ont utilisé plusieurs versions de détendeurs MISTRAL dont

 

- des versions standard sans aucune modification

- une version "militarisée" avec embout GODEL, peinte en noir et dont la plaque d'identification était retirée

- une version "déminage" avec sortie au dessus du plongeur via un snorkel maintenu par un flotteur dont la gamelle était insonorisée par calfeutrage

Détendeur MISTRAL Militaire

(Marine Allemande)

Version Militaire Allemande du détendeur Mistral.

Ce détendeur était probablement destiné à l'entrainement. Il dispose d'une connection DIN avec une sortie HP permettant de connecter un manomètre. Merci à Pascal Guyaux pour ces 2 photos.

Scaphandre autonome COUSTEAU-GAGNAN en caisse.

Description du fonctionnement du Mistral

Ce détendeur permet à l'aide d'un injecteur, d'offrir aisément et régulièrement de l'air en quantité suffisante, détendu automatiquement au niveau des poumons du plongeur.

Sa position dorsale assure un confort respiratoire maximum, la membrane se trouvant à la hauteur des bronches.

Il se compose d'un seul étage de détente qui transforme la haute pression. L'asservissement du débit sous une très faible pression, fourni à la demande, de l'air à la pression ambiante régnante à n'importe quelle profondeur.

Sa facilité d'utilisation élimine efficacement le risque d'essoufflement.

Sa conception ne peut provoquer un manque d'air, son circuit ouvert à l'expiration, conduit les bulles hors du champs de vision.

Capture d’écran 2019-08-19 à 18.44.06.pn

Schéma de principe du Mistral

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now