Hookah regulators

(Narguilé in French)

 

 

A narghile regulator is generally used in professional diving (rarely in recreational diving). It allows you to carry out underwater work without the weight and bulk of a diving unit and therefore offers more freedom of movement, the diver carrying the Hookah double hose regulator using a harness (harness) . It is supplied with compressed air at medium pressure (approximately 10 bar) thanks to a long flexible hose (average length of 30 meters), connected on the surface to a medium pressure compressor or a tank of high pressure air expanded to medium pressure by through a first floor.

 

In 1943, among the 3 prototypes of air-liquid regulator, one of them was in hookah version, it is the one that you see on the photograph below, the only one that I know. It is the "ancestor" of the hookah ( in french its narghilés ) of the La Spirotechnique which will be marketed until 1976, since after this date the professional branch will be abandoned by the brand.

There are 3 models of double hose hookah marketed between 1951 and 1976:

As explained on the CG45 page, the hookah version was produced occasionally and on demand until 1955. "La Spirotechnique" released a last series probably of 1000 units that year, which I called the late hookah version of the CG-45 regulator. The manufacturer's label is therefore a SA LA SPIROTECHNIQUE. The body is exactly the same as the yoke version, just the mechanism of the first stage is removed, replaced by a cap on the membrane side.

Unlike all CG45 which use large numbers to punch their serial number, the serial numbers of this last series are stamped with small numbers as on MISTRAL label from 1956. This confirms in my opinion a late production of CG45 hookah in parallel with the production of the first MISTRAL regulators with the address "COGNACQ JAY" which they used to stamp their serial number the same machine as that of the previous CG45 (big figures on the first MISTRAL). For this late series I have identified serial numbers included between 5206 and 6194 , and all the CG45 observed in this interval have the characteristics indicated previously.

- The CG-45 in hookah version with small label SA LA SPIROTECHNIQUE.

CG45-SA-NARGHILÉ-N°6104.jpg
Raccord
Raccord
intérieur du CG45 narghilé
Détail du corps BP
CG45narghile5206
CG45-plaque 5206
CG45-narghilé6194
CG45-Narghilé-6172
narguilé-Narghilé-SA-6104
CG45-864N-1
CG45-864N-2

Slideshow of CG45 hookah before 1955 and the late version.

(click to enlarge the photos)

- The CG-45 hookah with US DIVERS body and MISTRAL label and the dress  27 Rue Trébois LEVALLOIS (Seine).

Released in 1956, after the move of "La Spirotechnique" to Levallois, the Narghilé MISTRAL retains the characteristics of the CG-45 with a "US DIVERS" body with its MP connection at 30 ° to the housing. It is mounted with a manufacturer's label from MISTRAL and will be marketed until 1964. One precision, the HP body does not allow to reassemble the mechanism of the first stage to transform it into a yoke regulator version, as was the case on the narghile CG45 . A final feature, the serial numbers of all these hookahs ends with the letter G without us knowing the meaning.

nargh-mistral.jpeg
narghile-CG45
nargh-mistral4
nargh-mistral3
nargh-mistral2
nargh-mistral1
éclaté-narguilé.jpg

Diaporama de CG45 narguilé à corps US DIVERS et plaque Mistral. 

(cliquez pour agrandir les photos)

-Le MISTRAL narghilé avec plaque constructeur or et bleu marine type détendeur AQUILON ou SPIRO 8.

The MISTRAL hookah written with a U was released in 1965 and only a small series of 400 copies was produced. It is therefore one of the rarest regulators to find ...

the front pan will remain that of the CG 45 while the rear pan is that of the MISTRAL. Abandonment of clips to close the case in favor of the ring which facilitates its maintenance and new more efficient low-pressure mechanism similar to the mechanism of the second stages with a mouth with an oversized nozzle.

The manufacturer's plate is of good quality and does not electrolysis in a marine environment.

NARGUILE -N°297
CG Narguilé n°400-
IMG_0716
IMG_0714
NARGUILE -N°297
Narguilé N°297
narghile copie.jpg
nargh-eclate1.jpeg
nargh-eclate2.jpeg

Slideshow of the Mistral hookah written with a U

(click to enlarge the photos)

In 1968 "La Spirotechnique" modifies the spelling of the hookah (Narghilé in french) and decides to write it with an H (For the little hookah story can be written with a U or an H, the 2 spellings are accepted). It will be marketed until 1976, when "La Spirotechnique", which is going through an unprecedented financial crisis, will decide to stop its professional branch. Its manufacturer's label is made of aluminum and electrolyses quickly in contact with the marine environment.

It is for this reason that it is difficult to find them with manufacturer label in good condition. It was produced in total less than 3000 NARGHILÉ MISTRAL or about 300 copies per year, so it is a relatively rare regulator.

nargh-mistral_2.jpeg
narghile3
narghile2
nargh-mistral_2-1
nargh-mistral_2-2
nargh-mistral_2-3
narghile copie.jpg
nargh-eclate1.jpeg
nargh-eclate2.jpeg

Slideshow of the Mistral hookah written with an H

(click to enlarge the photos)

MISTRAL hookah regulator associated with a LAMA bubble helmet. Photo credit Philippe Rousseau.

In 1968 "La Spirotechnique" released a narghile version of Spiro 8 with 4 outlets to decompress with oxygen (landing under the boat with trapeze) but also a late version? with a single outlet and a 40 or 50 series first stage.

narg-spiro8-5.jpg
narg-spiro8-4.jpg

4 divers version

narg-spiro8.jpg
narg-spiro8-1.jpg
narg-spiro8-2.jpg
narg-spiro8-3.jpg

1 diver version

In 1968 "La spirotechnique" will also release a version of the hookah aquilon, it is equipped with a 30-meter MP pipe with a non-return valve. It is originally designed with its first stage to rig it on a block (small quick intervention), but nothing prevents it from being connected to a low pressure compressor.

narghile-aquilon3
narghile-aquilon1
narghile-aquilon2

Hooked version Aquilon with belt harness

Narghilé Mistral CG45
Narghilé Mistral
Narghilé Mistral

Thanks to Niels Sejr Oxenvad for these 3 photos from his Narghile collection.

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now

Les détendeurs narghilés

 

 

Un détendeur narghilé est en général utilisé en plongée professionelle (rarement en plongée loisir). Il permet de réaliser des travaux sous-marins sans le poid et l'encombrement d'un bloc de plongée et offre donc plus de liberté de mouvement, le plongeur portant le détendeur narghilé double tuyaux à l'aide d'un baudrier (harnais). Il est alimenté en air comprimé à moyenne pression (environ 10 bar) grâce à un long flexible (longueur moyenne de 30 mètres), relié en surface à un compresseur moyenne pression ou une réserve d'air à haute pression détendu à une moyenne pression par l'intermédiaire d'un premier étage.

 

En 1943, parmi les 3 prototypes de détendeur air-liquide, un d'entre eux était en version narghilé, c'est celui que vous voyez sur la photographie de dessous, la seule que je connaisse. C'est "l'ancêtre" des narghilés de la spirotechnique qui seront commercialisés jusqu'en 1976, puisque après cette date la branche professionnelle sera abandonnée par la marque.

Il existe 3 modèles de narghilé doubles tuyaux commercialisés entre 1951 et 1976: 

Comme expliqué sur la page CG45 la version en narguilé était produite occasionnellement et à la demande jusqu'en 1955. La SPIROTECHNIQUE sort une dernière série probablement de 1000 unités cette année là, que j'ai dénommé version tardive narghilé du détendeur CG-45. La plaque constructeur est  donc une SA  LA SPIROTECHNIQUE. Le corps est exactement le même que la version étrier, juste le mécanisme du premier étage est supprimé, remplacé par un bouchon coté membrane.

Contrairement à tous les CG45 qui utilisent des gros chiffres pour poinçonner leur numéro de série, les numéros de série de cette dernière série sont estampillés avec des petits chiffres comme sur les plaques MISTRAL à partir de 1956. Ceci confirme selon moi une production tardive de CG45 narghilé en parallèle de la production des premiers détendeurs MISTRAL avec l'adresse "COGNACQ JAY" qui eux utilisaient pour estampiller leur numéro de série la même machine que celle des CG45 antérieurs (gros chiffres sur les premiers MISTRAL). Pour cette série tardive j'ai identifié des numéros de série inclus entre le 5206 et le 6194, et tous les CG45 observés dans cet intervalle ont les caractéristiques signalées précédemment.

- Le CG-45 en version narghilé avec petite plaque SA LA SPIROTECHNIQUE.

CG45-SA-NARGHILÉ-N°6104.jpg
Raccord
Raccord
intérieur du CG45 narghilé
Détail du corps BP
CG45narghile5206
CG45-plaque 5206
CG45-narghilé6194
CG45-Narghilé-6172
narguilé-Narghilé-SA-6104
CG45-864N-1
CG45-864N-2

Diaporama de CG45 narguilé d'avant 1955 et de la version tardive. 

(cliquez pour agrandir les photos)

- Le CG-45 narghilé avec corps US DIVERS et plaque de MISTRAL 27 Rue Trébois LEVALLOIS (Seine).

Sorti en 1956, après le déménagement de la Spirotechnique à Levallois, le Narghilé MISTRAL garde les caractéristiques du CG-45 avec un corps de type "US DIVERS" avec son raccord MP à 30° par rapport au boitier. Il est monté avec une plaque constructeur de MISTRAL et sera commercialisé jusqu'en 1964. Une précision, le corps HP ne permet pas de réassembler le mécanisme du premier étage pour le transformer en détendeur étrier, comme c'était le cas sur le CG45 narghilé. Une dernière particularité les numéros de série de tous ces narguilés se termine par la lettre G sans que l'on connaisse la signification.

nargh-mistral.jpeg
narghile-CG45
nargh-mistral4
nargh-mistral3
nargh-mistral2
nargh-mistral1
éclaté-narguilé.jpg

Diaporama de CG45 narguilé à corps US DIVERS et plaque Mistral. 

(cliquez pour agrandir les photos)

-Le MISTRAL narghilé avec plaque constructeur or et bleu marine type détendeur AQUILON ou SPIRO 8.

Le Narguilé MISTRAL écrit avec un U est sorti en 1965 et il ne sera produit qu'une petite série de 400 exemplaires. Il fait donc parti des détendeurs les plus rares à trouver...

la casserole avant restera celle du CG 45 alors que la casserole arrière est celle du MISTRAL. Abandon des agrafes pour fermer le boitier au profit du jonc ce qui facilite sa maintenance et nouveau mécanisme basse pression plus performant se rapprochant du mécanisme des seconds étages à bouche avec une buse surdimensionnée.

La plaque constructeur est de bonne qualité et ne s'électrolyse pas en milieu marin. 

NARGUILE -N°297
CG Narguilé n°400-
IMG_0716
IMG_0714
NARGUILE -N°297
Narguilé N°297
narghile copie.jpg
nargh-eclate1.jpeg
nargh-eclate2.jpeg

Diaporama du narguilé Mistral écrit avec un U

(cliquez pour agrandir les photos)

En 1968 la SPIROTECHNIQUE modifie l'orthographe du narghilé et décide de l'écrire avec un H (Pour la petite histoire narguilé peut s'écrire avec un U ou un H, les 2 orthographes sont acceptées). Il sera commercialisé jusqu'en 1976, date où la Spirotechnique, qui traverse une crise financière sans précédant, décidera d'arrêter sa branche professionnelle. Sa plaque constructeur est en aluminium et s'electrolyse rapidement en contact avec le milieu marin.

C'est pour cette raison qu'il est difficile d'en trouver avec des plaques constructeur en bon état . Il a été produit au total moins de 3000 NARGHILÉ MISTRAL soit environ 300 exemplaires par années, c'est donc un détendeur relativement rare.

nargh-mistral_2.jpeg
narghile3
narghile2
nargh-mistral_2-1
nargh-mistral_2-2
nargh-mistral_2-3
narghile copie.jpg
nargh-eclate1.jpeg
nargh-eclate2.jpeg

Diaporama du narguilé Mistral écrit avec un H

(cliquez pour agrandir les photos)

Détendeur narghilé MISTRAL associé à un casque bulle LAMA. Crédit photo Philippe Rousseau.

En 1968 la Spirotechnique sortira une version narghilé du Spiro 8 avec 4 sorties pour effectuer une décompression à l'oxygène (palier sous le bateau avec trapèze) mais aussi une version tardive? avec une simple sortie et un premier étage de type série 40 ou 50.

narg-spiro8-5.jpg
narg-spiro8-4.jpg

Version 4 plongeurs

narg-spiro8.jpg
narg-spiro8-1.jpg
narg-spiro8-2.jpg
narg-spiro8-3.jpg

Version 1 plongeur

En 1968 la spirotechnique sortira aussi une version de l'aquilon en narghilé, elle est équipée d'un tuyau MP de 30 mètres avec une clapet anti-retour. Il est conçu d'origine avec son premier étage pour le gréer sur un bloc (petite intervention rapide), mais rien n'empêche de le raccorder à un compresseur basse pression.

narghile-aquilon3
narghile-aquilon1
narghile-aquilon2

Version narghilé Aquilon avec harnais ceinture

Narghilé Mistral CG45
Narghilé Mistral
Narghilé Mistral

Merci à Niels Sejr Oxenvad pour ces 3 photos de sa collection de Narghilé.

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now